Friday Night Magic, Part 1

As I mentioned before I’ve been getting back into the tournament scene for Magic and have been enjoying it tremendously. Every Friday night at most comic book/game stores you can find events hosted by Wizards of the Coast, the company who makes Magic. I decided to make my debut into the tournament scene at a local store here in Austin called Pat’s Games. Pat’s is a store dedicated solely to Magic and therefore only sells Magic cards and hosts tournaments.

After having brewed and battle tested my personalized 60 card deck with my new found Magic buddies I decided it was ready for the big stage. The tournament had 32 participants in which every player pays an entry fee of $10, which mainly goes to the store and prizes. This particular tournament was a Swiss-system tournament, meaning players get paired to face each other for several rounds and the top 8 players with the best overall record face off for prizes, nationwide points, and bragging rights.

I enjoy the Magic community due to how much you immediately have in common with your opponent and you will find players off all ages and types which usually leads to interesting conversation. My first opponent was a younger gentleman that I would guess was in high school, we chatted about how it was our first time playing at this location and how crowded it was. I could tell he was as excited as I was, but I didn’t want to give away my nervousness. Nic, as I learned his name was, put up a good fight and I nearly thought I would lose the match after losing game 1 in a best of 3 but luckily I pulled off game 2 narrowly and swept game 3. We shook hands and he congratulated me and we stuck together and chatted about Magic and life until the next round.

Leave a Reply

